is going back to normal, exactly what we want

Cole Thompson
2 min readFeb 24, 2021

--

I can tell you this as we have been going through Covid-19 for a little bit over a year now, IT SUCKS. I absolutely hate having to wear a mask to feel safe or to please others. I hate not seeing my moms dad and step mom because they are very cautious. I completely understand why this is all happening but that cannot stop me from hating it. Now as I tell you this, we also have to think about if going back to normal is the best thing for us. Going to a time where there are no masks, everybody is with family, and no one is quarantining is absolutely what I want. However, going BACK to normal is questionable. We have learned a lot about ourselves and about our culture through this time and I believe we wouldn’t have without going through this. We have grown as a culture and as a society and we wouldn’t have grown as much without Covid-19. We shouldn’t necessarily go back to normal. We should continue to grow and learn as a culture. We need to not take this time for granted because this is never ever going to happen in our culture again (at least to this scale). We literally were stuck in our houses for 3 months. That is insane to think about. And not only did one section of America do it or something, the entire world went into lockdown mode. That is completely bizarre. I am grateful for the time we had but I am so ready for us to be free to do what we want, and not wear masks, and go anywhere just because. I have just turned 16 and I have about 2 years left of being a kid. I want to spend it how I want to and do the things I want to do. We need to continue to move forward and not wish to go “back to normal.”

--

--

Cole Thompson
0 Followers

I'm a writer for english in 10th grade with Mr. Schwartz